top of page

Reflection for Project #2

I found my conference with Mat to be very helpful. Going in, I was confused if my research essay was headed in the right direction. My paper was starting to sound more like a personal narrative, and I was worried that that is not how a research paper is supposed to work. Mat told me that there is no problem with my essay sounding like this, and I felt more relieved. I brought up to him that I was having a little bit of a hard time finding academic sources that relate to my topic “auditioning for Disney”. I had already found one academic source by searching for journals that have some of the same topics, but not necessarily in terms of Disney. For example, I told Mat that my source discussed the benefits of finding information online, and he told me that I was on the right path to finding more academic sources. Both Mat and Jessie then gave me some ideas on how to lengthen my paper to reach the 2,000-word mark, like looking more into some of the genres found on Youtube videos. I left my conference with a clearer idea of what I was writing, and felt better about how to add to, and finish off my paper.

bottom of page